(Adult)-hood

large_jwzcwkw8amanurifnchl4bnf2uz

Recently I watched a movie on Netflix that was titled “Liberal Arts” starring Elizabeth Olsen and Josh Radnor from HIMYM. It was pretty good and I enjoyed the story line but the thing I took away from the movie was something one of the supporting characters said.

One of Josh’s (Jesse is his characters name) former professors says,

“Nobody feels like an adult. It’s the world’s dirty secret.”

I found that really profound for two reasons.

One, thats’s utterly and completely true. I mean, I’m not that far into my own adulthood but I know from the experiences I’ve had so far that I have not felt like an adult yet. Nor am I sure I will ever feel like one.

Secondly, I kind of interpreted it in another way and thought that maybe not only does nobody ever feel like an adult, but that we never actually are adults and we just go around doing adult-like stuff because that’s what we’re supposed to do.

We pay our bills, we get a job with health insurance and paid vacation days and we just keep moving forward. We get married, have kids and do all the stuff that our parents did when we were younger.

Yet, I’m not sure any of us ever really grows up. We’re still those lost kids inside not sure how the world really works and trying to figure it out along the way.

Anyway, that line just sparked a stream of thoughts and made me think of how adulthood really is the worlds dirty little secret. No one ever tells you how hard it is to be an adult and maybe that’s because they never really know either.

 

One thought on “(Adult)-hood

Leave a Reply

