Dearest Little Sister,

 

Version 2

I hate what it feels like to miss you.

It’s one of the feelings that troubles me the most in this life. But I know you are out doing what you have to do. And that makes me proud and happy.

I can’t help but think that maybe sometimes you were meant to be the big sister. You have shown me what it’s like to be strong and passionate and persistent. There is nothing out there too big for you to conquer, and you know that. That’s what makes you so special and inspirational to me. I look at you and I see all the things I want to be.

Never change and never compromise because you can do anything you set your mind to (I’ve seen you do it already).

I like to think that my role as your big sister is to make mistakes that help you muddle through life a little easier than me. And that my reward for all that struggling is to be able to see you succeed and blossom into the amazing human you have become. I would do it all over a thousand times if it meant I get to watch you do what you love (and do it so amazingly).

There will not be a day that goes by where I don’t think about you and miss you, even when you aren’t that far away.

They say that soul mates are real, and maybe they are right. And maybe those soul mates are only romantic, and maybe they aren’t at all. Maybe it’s just someone that knows your soul and your heart and just gets you.

To quote one of our favorite bands,

“I do not know why I would go in front of you and hide my soul, ‘cause you’re the only one who knows it.”

–Twenty One Pilots

You are my soul mate, my other half, my better half. There’s things about me that I’m not sure any other person on this planet will ever understand the way you do.

And I am forever grateful that the universe put you in my life as not only a friend, but as my little sister.

Love you to the moon and back,

Your big sis

 

Leave a Reply

