The Inspiration Series: Love in the Dark

Adele released her album titled “25” in early November and everyone went crazy (of course, cause its Adele). The obvious choice for most popular song from the album is “Hello” with its equally popular emotional music video. However, there was one song that I came to love after my sister played it for me time and time again in the car. Love in the Dark is a classic Adele-sounding song. Everytime I listen to it, I imagine the way its music video would play out and it ends up something like the little story I’ve written below. Hope you enjoy it and if you want to imagine your own music video, check out the link below.

Love in the Dark by Adele

Or listen while you read!


She sits on the edge of the bed, her naked back exposed. The sheets are still wrapped around her waist as she turns around to look at him. He’s already staring when she meets his eyes. She quickly turns back around and says,

“Don’t.”

“Please,” he whispers into the dark.

“Let me go.”

“Don’t go.”

He reaches his arms across the bed, moving his body closer to his at the same time. He grabs her forearm and pulls her back towards him.

“I have to go,” she says looking him in the eyes this time.

“No you don’t. I promise she won’t ever know. She won’t find out.”

“I have to go. I can’t do this anymore.”

She pulls her arm from his grasp and lets the sheets fall off her, exposing the rest of her naked body. He gets up out of the bed and moves towards her, his body unclothed as well.

“Don’t come any closer,” she says, pulling on her jeans. “You can’t change my mind.”

Despite her words, he wraps his arms around her and pulls her chest close to his. Her arms remain at her sides as he presses his lips to hers.

“It’s ok. It’s not like we’re the only ones to ever do this,” he says as he releases her from the embrace.

Her eyes begin to fill with tears. She leans down to pick up her blouse and one escapes her eye and falls to the floor. When she lifts her head the rest begin to fall and he wipes them away gently as they glide down her skin.

“I don’t love you anymore.” She chokes on the words out but they make it out and linger in the air like a winter fog.

He steps back, his face contorting into a frown. He is shocked and hurt. He takes his hand off her face and backs away.

“I can’t bear to break your heart butΒ I can’t go on like this,” she says trying to comfort him.

He refuses and moves back to the bed where he sits and pulls the sheets back over the bottom half of his body.

“There’s too much space between us, miles, oceans. I can’t love you in the dark like this anymore. I won’t be hidden like a secret, a lie.”

He hides his face in his hands as she puts on her shoes and pulls on her coat.

“I don’t regret any of it,” he says, “You have always meant the world to me. I’m sorry I haven’t meant the same to you.”

She makes her way towards the door, looking back at him one last time.

“I want to live, not like this. And I don’t think you can save me. Goodbye.”

He looks away so as to not see her go.

She opens the door and pulls it closed behind her.

 

 

Leave a Reply

